Reviewed by 13 customers

Already own it? Log in to write a review

Thank you for submitting your review! It will be reviewed by our staff before it is posted.

Nissy - Didn't suit me at all
11/07/2018
Bought this after reading the great reviews but the gel texture and the tightness after use didn't work for me, and I couldn't see any improvements from use! Switched to the 2% liquid and my skin took much more to it. Love PC products but this didn't quite work out for me personally.
Amanda23 - Aha! It works!
25/09/2017
I've used the 10% AHA weekly exfoliant before and thought that was great so I was interested to use a gel formula and now I prefer it, nothing is absorbed into the cotton wool pad and wasted. This product is designed for daily use but I use it less frequently and I still get great results, my skin actually looks better after use. By comparison, I tried a rival 10% glycolic toner and even used it every day, it didn't dry my skin in fact it didn't do much at all. This product is great, in my opinion and results are immediate.
Tee83 - Amazing!
25/09/2017
I have been using this gel for a little under a week and already, can feel the difference in my skin. Its early days, but so far, ever sooo good! Skin is soft, supple and hasnt felt like this in a long time. I don't know what Ive been doing all this time, but I know what I'll be using moving from now on. Looking forward to this being a staple in my skincare routine. Would highly recommend!
Chloe - Fantastic product
25/09/2017
This is a great aha which leaves my skin glowing and soft. Good pump for easy use and nice texture of product. I have knocked 1 star off as I feel it's misleading not to warn on the instructions that it's important to build up acids slowly. I started using this several months back, following the instructions and my skin became really dry, red and itchy. I emailed PC customer service for advice and they were more than helpful. Just wish I had known to build up slowly in the first instance. Will definitely repurchase.
Kate - Fantastic
17/02/2017
This really is such a great AHA product. Makes my skin so smooth, soft, and supple. I have fairly sensitive skin, but this doesn't bother it at all.
Ariel - Great exfoliating agent; poor packaging for travelling
31/01/2017
Bought this to be used in conjunction with the 2% BHA and they work great as a pair (not at the same time!). Skin glows after a few weeks of using. Bought the trial size for travelling as I go away fairly frequently, unfortunately it leaks (but not as badly as the 2% BHA as this is in a gel form and not liquid form). If PC could get this travel size packaging right I could get a line of product for home another line for travelling, saving a lot of hassle!
Nick - Very Impressive
06/06/2016
This little cream is very impressive indeed. Within barely a week of using it I can already notice a difference in the texture of my skin - it's more even and has fewer blemishes. At 27 I don't really get full-on acne anymore but I do get random blemishes and my skin tends to be patchy overall. Since I started using this, my skin has been looking noticeably smoother and less patchy, so I can't wait for what a month or two may bring. Just remember to moisturize like it's your job afterwards because it does sting a bit and will make your skin itchy and dry if you don't. Thought there should be a review from a man as well on here!
Michelle - Better than retin A
21/05/2016
This is excellent stuff - 8% is the perfect starting place. It goes on beautifully any d does exactly what it says in the tin! In fact I found this more affective than prescriptive retin A as it is less harsh and results show much quicker! Perfect! What I wouldsay though is to stop this product a week before your holiday abroad if your going to be in the sun a lot, even if you wear sunscrean - accidental sun exposure especially in a hot climate will really hurt your skin using gycolics.
Miya - AMAZING
09/03/2016
The product is amazing...even though i have breakout prone skin i feel like this has worked so well for me over the bha. I use it every night and can tell a difference in my skin in the morning ! I feel like its helped with my acne marks aswell! :)) WORTH EVERY PENNY
Simon - Ineffective
26/12/2012
I love Paula's Choice products, but this product did not work for me at all. I stopped using her BHA Exfoliant and replaced it with this thinking it would be a little stronger and better for scaring having heard the benefits of Glycolic acid. I followed all the instructions and sadly my skin began to return to it's old oily acne ways within a week after using this AHA Gel Exfoliant. Needless to stay I have since stopped using it and returned to the old BHA Exfoliant. Perhaps its just not suited to my skin, but for me, it did nothing for acne or oil control. Sorry Paula!Customer care : Thank you for your review. As to choosing between the two types of exfoliants, as a general rule for skin sensitive to all forms of breakouts (including blackheads), BHA is preferred over AHA. This has to do with the main difference between AHA and BHA, which is that BHA has the ability to penetrate into the pore (AHAs do not), and thus can exfoliate inside the pore as well as on the surface of the skin. AHA products only exfoliate cells on the surface of skin.
Karen - Amazing product!
24/06/2012
This, along with the other Paula's Choice products that I have been using for the past 6 months has had a great effect on my skin. I have had Rosacea for over 15 years, along with sensitive skin. Paulas choice products have enabled me to stop taking antibiotics daily for the first time in over 10 years. I have tried so many products over the years, from Boots all the way up to Crem de la Mer- and Paula's choice is much better than all of them.
I use his gel at night and put a small amount of the Moisture Mask on the top, and by morning my skin looks great.
Strongly recommend this product.
Happy - Great
28/01/2011
I've been using this product for the last week and I'm so amazed and happy. My skin type is oily/sensitive/acne prone and this product work wonderful with my skin. It's completely removed my rough areas and unclogged my pores (which created my acne). Therefore I've noticed a huge difference in the texture and colour of my skin and I can't belive I haven't exfoliated like this before. Try it and don't be intimidated that it's recommended for dry skins :)
Rob - Stings stings stings!!!
04/10/2010
I had very high hopes for this product yet am bitterly disappointed at the lack of results....basically i could not use this as it burns the hell out of my skin leaving a red face to the point where i had to wash it out 10 minutes after putting it on!
It's such a shame as I love every other paulas choice product I have used and after reading the reviews particularly on the US site as well.....I guess the search continues.Customer Care: We are sorry to hear about your experiences with the Exfoliating 8% Alpha Hydroxy Acid Gel. Our customer service team will be more than happy to assist you in finding another product that will work better for you.